Skip to Main Content

Divisions & Themes

AJS 52nd Annual Conference
December 13-15, 2020
Washington, DC

Divisions & Chairs




Program Committee

Bible and the History of Biblical Interpretation

David Lambert & Jacqueline Vayntrub

Gender and Sexuality Studies:
Pilot Division

Jennifer Caplan & Rachel Kranson

Holocaust Studies

Natalia Aleksiun & Gabriel Finder

Interdisciplinary, Theoretical, and New Approaches

David Shneer

Israel Studies

Liora Halperin

Jewish History and Culture in Antiquity

Michal Bar-Asher Siegal & Gregg Gardner

Jewish Languages and Linguistics from Antiquity to the Present

Renee Perelmutter

Jewish Mysticism

Eitan Fishbane

Jewish Politics

Joshua Shanes & Mira Sucharov

Jews, Film, and the Arts

Olga Gershenson

Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History, Literature, and Culture

Eve Krakowski & David Shyovitz

Medieval Jewish Philosophy

Hava Tirosh-Samuelson

Modern Hebrew Literature

Karen Grumberg

Modern Jewish History in Europe, Asia, Israel, and Other Communities

Daniella Doron & Paul Lerner

Modern Jewish History in the Americas

Mike Cohen & Sarah Imhoff

Modern Jewish Literature and Culture

Amelia Glaser & Kerry Wallach

Modern Jewish Thought and Theology

Susannah Heschel

Pedagogy and Professional Practice

Sarah Zarrow

Rabbinic Literature and Culture

Mira Wasserman & Barry Wimpfheimer

Sephardi/Mizrahi Studies

Adriana Brodsky & Devin Naar

Social Science

Helen Kim & Ayala Fader

Yiddish Studies

Ken Frieden