Skip to Main Content

Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Awards

Made possible by funding from Jordan Schnitzer and Arlene Schnitzer through the Harold & Arlene Schnitzer Family Fund of the Oregon Jewish Community Foundation, the Association for Jewish Studies is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Awards.

This program is designed for current AJS member authors who already have secured publishing contracts but who require subventions to ensure publication of their first books. The AJS grants five awards of $5,000 each, payable directly to the press on behalf of the author. A multidisciplinary committee of scholars evaluate applications. In deciding how to allocate these funds, the committee considers both the scholarly significance of the book and the demonstrated need for subvention support. AJS members in all research disciplines are eligible.

2022 Recipients

AJ Berkovitz, A Life of Psalms in Jewish Late Antiquity

Ayelet Brinn, “Even Women”: Gender, Mass Culture, and the Rise of the American Yiddish Press

Sarah Cramsey, Uprooting the Diaspora: Jewish Belonging and the "Ethnic Revolution" in Poland and Czechoslovakia, 1936–1946

Gordon Dale, The Life and Works of Rabbi Ben Zion Shenker

Grace Kessler Overbeke, The First Lady of Laughs: Standing Up for Jean Carroll

Rotem Rozental, Pre-State Photographic Archives and the Zionist Movement

For further information, contact Amy Weiss, Grants and Professional Development Manager, at