Skip to Main Content

Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

AJS is pleased to announce the 2018 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards, made possible by funding from Jordan Schnitzer and Arlene Schnitzer through the Harold & Arlene Schnitzer Family Fund of the Oregon Jewish Community Foundation.

Launched in 2008, these awards have annually recognized and promoted outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honored scholars whose work embodies the best in the field: rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. AJS annually awards one winner and one finalist in each of four categories. The categories rotate over a two-year cycle, for a total of eight categories. Each winner will receive $10,000 and each finalist $2,000.

2018 Submission Categories

Books in any of the following fields are eligible for consideration:

» Biblical Studies, Rabbinics, and Jewish History and Culture in Antiquity 

» Jews and the Arts: Music, Performance, and Visual

» Modern Jewish History and Culture: Europe and Israel

» Social Science, Anthropology, and Folklore 

Submission Deadline

Friday, June 1, 2018

Eligibility Requirements

Membership: Only current AJS members for the 2017 – 2018 membership year may submit their books for consideration or be nominated by a publisher.

Copyright Date: Only books with copyright dates of 2016 or 2017 are eligible for the 2018 Schnitzer Award.

Language: The Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards are currently only accepting books written in English.

Monographs: Only monographs are eligible for the 2018 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards. Reference works and edited volumes will not be considered.

Translations: Translations and/or commentaries of a classical work are eligible for submission, as long as the book’s translator or editor is an AJS member. Translations and/or commentaries of a recent scholarly work are also eligible for submission, but in this case, the original author, who would need to be a current AJS member, would be eligible for the award.

Resubmission: Books may be submitted for consideration no more than two times in a two-year period. Previous winners or finalists may not resubmit.

Submission Instructions

1) Send a total of 4 copies of the book; one each to the three judges and one copy to the AJS office. Click here for mailing instructions.

2) Complete the application form for the appropriate book category.

Application form for Biblical Studies, Rabbinics, Jewish History & Culture in Antiquity

Application form for Jews and the Arts: Music, Performance, Visual

Application form for Modern Jewish History: Europe and Israel

Application form for Social Sciences, Anthropology, and Folklore


Contact Amy Weiss at

Awards will be announced in late Fall 2018, and will be formally presented at a reception at the 50th Annual Conference.